Svorga means Heaven

Standard

One of the first Nepali words I was ever taught was Heaven. I don’t remember all the details of this particular exchange. My very first word was “Buddha” as in, the person. I was talking about Buddha one day with Shiva (former lover) and he informed me that I was saying “Budah” which I was told meant, husband. This is how our relationship began, with weeks, no months of him staring at me placing his tongue in the right spot to show me how to make the right “dha” sound and me staring him right back, never making the right “dha” sound and always making the wrong “Da” sound.
Perhaps it was staring at each others lips, tongue, and overall mouth for three months that led to the first kiss, but it was that first kiss that led to the first trip. And it was on that trip, I was introduced to Svorga. We stumbled across a paradise. A place to sleep that had its own spring, a waterfall, rope beds in the trees for us to sleep and play in. And we both were certain that we’d died and found our own Svorga. The whole trip just fell into being, not being an exact certainty until the day we found each other in my car driving to…um…paradise? We weren’t even sure when we got in the car, where we’d be, where we’d go, where we’d sleep. We just knew that we were together and we needed nothing else in the world.
That word has stayed in my head ever sense. There is a small possibility its a Newari word, because I was taught many on both sides of the Nepal Bhasa and Nepali Bhasa fence. All I know, is that I’ve fallen from Heaven and ache to return home. And since Heaven is only a place in my mind, all I’ve got is my own Svorga to exist in.

3 responses »

  1. I really didn’t get your blog name before but I know what you mean. I think Sworga is how they spell in Nepali for heaven.

    Anyway it is really sad what happened in your past but keep focusing in your Sworga and I am sure one day you will have what you are looking for. Wishing you all the best. I am sure there is someone out there who will make you so happy that you will forget all this pain. Just hang on gal.

    • So many ways to switch Devanagari to English. I was taught that strictly speaking there is no “w” in Nepali, so I was told to use “v” although, you are right, its definitely a “w” sound. Thanks for the words of encouragement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

