The Butterfly Keeps Flapping Its Wings

Standard

This title is in reference to an earlier post. Now, this same chain reaction is going even further. My daughter’s school asked parents to burn cd’s with their child’s favorites to play during class. Thanks to the overwhelming Bollywood exposure that my daughter has had courtesy of the previously mentioned Nepali guy in the post above, aka, Shiva, her cd is nothing but Hindi music.

Imagine a class of affluent, white, American 3,4, and 5 year-olds scarf dancing to the sounds of “Jai Ho”, “Ishq Bina”, and “Dil To Pagal Hai”…because that is what I walked into the other day. All I could think is, “when his family sent him here, they never imagined this being the result.”

I think in about 10-15 years, Bollywood may see an insurgence of American interest.

One response »

  1. I am the guy who wrote a comment “blind linguist” about learning Nepali that you commented on some time ago. I’m not sure how I missed your feedback. I’d love to talk Nepali with you sometime. I find your blog intriguing. My email is jandctrotter@gmail.com. Write me and we’ll set up a time to talk 2nd grade Nepali 🙂

Leave a Reply

