Translation Project – Sunsan Yo Raat – James Shrestha

Standard

Heard this song on Kalika FM today and fell in love with it and was thankfully able to find out who sings and find a place to download the song. (No thanks to iTunes..cuz i never find Nepali music there, or Google for protecting YouTube copying). Anyway, part of my learning system is through singing and now, thanks to his video on YouTube, I am provided with Roman transliterated lyrics making translation SOOOO much easier. This may take a little work but here are the lyrics provided (and slightly altered where my own ears and need for meaning changed a few spellings) and my attempts at translation. Of course any and all suggestions, corrections, or help in general is most welcome.

sunsan yo raat    (this silent night, in the dead of the night?)
sunsan sahar  ( silent city city)
koi pani chaina outside (no one is outside)
to have some fun
eklo chu mah (alone i am)
eklo yo raat ma (alone is the night)
timi aau ani deu (you come and let)
malai timro tyo saath (be my friend, be with me?)
so timi najik aayie (you najik close to, aayie=come—“you come close to me”)
mero yo haat samayie (i’ve got time on my hands, i’ve got plenty of time)
mero yo angalo ma (in my embrace)
angalo hali achi ( embrace hali achi)
so timi najik aayie (so you come here)
mero aakha ma heri (command form: look into my eyes, would be here and not heri or maybe heri a conjugation of hernu meaning, saw you in my eyes?)
timro tyo oath le (your promise to me)
mero oath lai chumi (my oath for you chumi — wondering if thise could be, you promised me a kiss? maybe if i make a promise to you then you promise me a kiss?)
babbaal cha life
enjoy tonight
garnu parcha moj masti  ( like to savor)
and have some fun every night
so timi najik aayie (so come close)

mero yo haat samayie (got time on my hands)

mero yo angalo ma
angalo hali nachi
so timi nagik aayie
mero yo haat samayie
mero yo angalo ma
angalo hali nachi
so timi nagik aayie
mero aakha ma heri
timro tyo oath le
mero oath lai chumi
so timi nagik aayie
so timi nagik aayie
ekanta ma basera hami (alone we were
maya ko kura gari (love talking
joon ra tara haru here (moon is but all we see, “we watched the moon and stars)
rah ah ah ah
romantic mode ma (in a romantic mood)
aakha mathi akha ma (i see upon your eyes)
film ma jastai bhayo raat ma (an image of the night)
hamro maya (our love)
sadhai yestai rahus (everything the same)
juni juni
mayalu (lovely)
mero maan lai niyali hera (the person for me destined for me)
mero maan ma aayie (my {one}  person has come, you came into my heart?)

basera sadhai aau sdhai (and always come always)
merai bhayera
babbaal cha life
enjoy tonight
garnu parcha moj masti (i like to savor)
and have some fun every night
so timi nagik aayie mero yo haat samayie
mero yo angalo ma
angalo hali nachi
so timi nagik aayie
mero aakha ma heri
timro tyo oath le
mero oath lai chumi
so timi nagik aayie
so timi nagik aayie
sunsan yo kalo raat (silent is the black night)
sahar ko bich ma hami dui saath (the city’s net is our friend)
maya ko nasha ma dubeko mutu
matra sundai chu dil ko dhuk dhuk
yeah
hami kati nagik
timi mero angalo ma
badha chaina kunai kura ko pani
tesailay aau naacha mah sanga
yo raat ma
chandra maa pani khusi cha
timro muskan lakhau ma yek
timro roop lai heri rakhnu maan lagney
chahindaina aru koi timi bayek
cute cha hamro jodi
future ko barema sochney ho bhaney
lets spend the rest of our lives together
baby will you marry me?
mero maan lai niyali hera
mero maan ma aayie basera
sadhai aau sadhai merai bhayera
so timi nagik aayie mero yo haat samayie
mero yo angalo ma
angalo hali nachi
so timi nagik aayie
mero aakha ma heri
timro tyo oath le
mero oath lai chumi
so timi nagik aayie
so timi nagik aayie

and for those interested, here is the video. 

special thanks to Zoe. I included your thoughts up in the ongoing translation project. I really appreciate your help. Most of the things you listed were things that were exceptionally tough for me. I’m glad that it was confusing to someone with so much more Nepali knowledge because I felt lost with many sentences, especially the one about mero aakha ma heri.

One response »

  1. Thanks for posting this! What a great way to get some Nepali practice 🙂

    On line three…(koi pani chaina outside), I think it means “no one is outside.”

    The line that says, ” malai timro tyo saath” is kind of confusing to me. Sometimes “saath” can mean with, so maybe the line means something like “give me your presence” ? The line “mero aakha ma heri” is also a bit confusing because I’m not sure what he means by “heri.” I think it is either “mero aakha ma here” –and translated as you wrote it: “I saw you in my eyes” or it’s “mero aakha ma hera” and it works as a command — “look into my eyes.”

    Another line that I’m wondering about is “mero oath lai chumi.” I think chumi means kiss, although maybe it is a name too? So if it does mean kiss, then with the previous line included, it would be translated as, “Your promise/oath kissed my promise” But that sounds strange! So I’m not sure.

    In the line: “joon ra tara haru here”…”tara” means “stars,” so it could be translated as “We watched the moon and stars.”

    For this line: “film ma jastai bhayo raat ma”..I think it would be “it was like a movie in the night.”

    At the end of that stanza, they have the line, “mero maan lai niyali hera” Do you know what niyali means? I’m confused by that line…

    The next line, “mero maan ma aayie.” I think “maan” means heart hear, although it’s usually spelled “man” and pronounced “mun.” So if it does means heart, then it would be something like, “came into my heart” or “you came into my heart.”

Leave a Reply

