Maybe its holaa, Maybe its kunni.

Standard

Finally, a new search term for a Nepali word that I haven’t already addressed. (Don’t worry all you, “How do I say ‘sweet’ in Nepali?” people, you aren’t alone!) So here we go, to address, “maybe.”

The first source I checked. leaves me with finite verb+holaa as the way to say maybe. I do not know what I finite verb is and trying to understand definitions of a finite verb do not offer much certainty. A root of a verb in whatever tense it should be? Here’s a link if you would like to understand what a finite verb is. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finite_verb

Anyway the sentence that was given as an example of “maybe” is this, “Bhaat paakyo ki paakena?” asking “Is the food ready?” and the reply, “Paakyo holaa.” meaning, “maybe it is,” or more appropriately, “probably it is.” The difference between probably and maybe get sort of confusing here, I suspect, they are relatively based on inflection and not just in the words. 
Another word I found is “kunni” which can be used as maybe, but more directly translates to, “who knows? I don’t know, or no idea.” And is more or less an indirect way to answer a question one doesn’t want to be bothered answering. This reminds me of the English phrase, “I guess so.”

Leave a Reply

